We are a local forum-based car club, serving Asheville and the surrounding areas, and welcome all types of car, truck, or bike enthusiasts!

+ Reply to Thread

Thread: 2001-2006 BMW M3 E46 Ownership Review

Track Junkie

2001-2006 BMW M3 E46 Ownership Review

Owners Review for E46 M3

Having owned 3 E46 M3s since 2010, I have had some good and bad experiences with them. In my opinion, it is one of the better buys out there for what you get. The looks are classic, handling is great and the engine sings. I have laid out the positives and negatives of M3s ownership. Enjoy!

Engine:
    BMW revised the european S50B32 engine into the S54 for the E46 M3. It produces 333hp and it a 3.2L I-6. This engine has a redline at 7,900 rpms with peak power coming in at 7,900 rpms and peak torque of 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpms. The intake collector feeds 6 individual throttle bodies to help the engine breath. The engine loves to live in the higher rpms which is evident with peak torque being so high up in the range. The S54 won the award for best "International Engine of the Year" and is highly regarded for producing 107 hp per liter in the european market(S54 produces 343 hp in Europe due to cat placement).
    Drivetrain:
    The M3 comes with a 6 speed manual transmission that is same in the SMG and manual models. While SMG models have their problems with the hydraulic pump, they can be converted to manual somewhat easily. The transmission itself is not know for any problems. It is recommended to upgrade the shifter linkage to get shorter throws and more precise gear engagement. The differential in the back comes with a factory limited slip which works great. For people wanted more acceleration from slow speeds, the gearing can be changed for a 4.10 ratio gear. This does make it uncomfortable for high speed highway cruising.
    Brakes: